70 boys and girls from 4th, 5th and 6th class took part in the schools indoor football competition this year. The competition took place every Tuesday and Thursday at lunch for the last 5 weeks.
There were some magnificent matches with a lot of skill and real drama on display.
Both finals took place last Thursday (15th December) with Chelsea defeating Ajax 2-1 in the girls final and Swansea narrowly edging out Bayern Munich 1-0 in the boys final. Well done to all boys and girls who took part in the competitions.
Girls Final
Chelsea -2
Ajax -1
Chelsea: Katie Hickey (captain), Aoife Murtagh, Niamh McClelland, Lucy Jones, Tegan Kelleher.
Ajax: Clodagh McDonnell (Captain), Faye Monaghan, Alex Foley, Mia Farrell, Saoirse Martin, Leah Capcarrere.
Boys Final
Swansea – 1
Bayern Munich – 0
Swansea: Titas Dubinskas (Captain), Niall Higgins, Max Hennessey, Seb Clarke, Nikolas Simeunovic, Luke Concannon.
Bayern Munich: James Foley (Captain), Sam McGeown, Gareth McDonnell, Sean Treanor, Niall Vilamill.