17th Feb 2016

What a finish we had to our basketball leagues on Wednesday. In front of a capacity crowd of enthusiastic spectators, we witnessed two top-class finals to finish off the basketball season in style

Girls’ Final

Jelly Tots 12
Balling Champs 6

Never mind the score-this was a thriller from the get-go. While Jelly Tots entered the final as favourites, The Champs got stuck in from the word go. With Freya Hollowed leading by example, they established an early lead and a surprise looked on the cards.Maria, Katie and Faye were battling like demons, ably supportted by Athena and Emma. However, after their slow start, Jelly Tots came roaring back into the game, inspired by a super score from Frances. Sara Byrne followed suit shortly afterwards and some clever passing from Méabh and Chloe and some brilliant shooting from Sara Lovett saw the Tots take the lead and never lose it .Zoe finished the game with a wonder basket to seal victory. The Champs battled bravely to the end of a thrilling contest but it was the Jelly Tots who tasted sweet success!

Score of the Final: Frances Winter
Player of the Final:Faye Monaghan

Boys’ Final

Adidas BC 14

Halfway through the final, this score looked very unlikely. After an early score from Aryan gave Adidas the lead, LJMJJ took over and seemed to be in complete control with Luke pulling the strings at the back and Benji and Joey linking up well in attack. Gbenga, Sam and James were linking up well and it looked as if LJMJJ were going to exact revenge for their defeat at the hands of Adidas in the group stages as they built up a 6-2 lead.
Then out of nowhere , Adidas launched a comeback. Sami, who looked as if he had left his shooting hands at home earlier on, started to find his range with some lovely lay-ups. Captain fantastic Alex rallied his troops and Toby, Eoghan and Aryan responded with some great moves. Kevin, despite shipping a knock to his teeth, played his heart out as usual and was desperately unlucky not to feature on the scoreboard. Adidas finished on top but this was a high quality final where no team deserved to lose.

Score of the Final:Aryan Rawat
Player of the Final: Joey O Sullivan